Any specific business interests for individual governors are also detailed at the end of their profile below.


Catherine Turner and Janine Barratt

Term of office:-  16/01/2020 – 15/01/2024

All Committees
Catherine Turner is the Headteacher of Beeston Rylands Junior School.

Janine Barratt is the Headteacher of Trent Vale Infant and Nursery School.

Staff Governor

Jamie Harper

Term of office:-  14/01/2020 – 13/01/2024

Resources Committee

Jamie is a teacher at Beeston Rylands Junior School.

Local Authority Governor

Councillor Kate Foale

Term of Office:- 15/07/2021 – 14/07/2025

Resources and Pupil Outcomes Committee

Kate has been the County Councillor for Beeston Central and Rylands since 2013. She is a Warwick University Graduate (1976), Deputy Leader of the County Labour Group and a National Leader of Governance. She is married with a grown up son. Kate is passionate about working proactively with the local community and is a Trustee at the Canalside Heritage Centre. In her spare time she is an obsessive gardener and keen dog walker with her much loved rescue dog, Gibbs. Kate is always pleased to hear from residents:

Co-opted Governors

Chris Jones (Chair of the Governing Body)

Term of office :- 16/01/2020 – 15/01/2024

Resources and Pupil Outcomes Committees

Chris is the dad of Emily and William who now attend Chilwell School. He is a careers adviser who works at Nottingham Trent University and has previously worked with children and young people in schools and colleges in Derbyshire. Chris enjoys music and singing with the Nottingham Trent University Choir as well as walking and cycling in the local area with his family.

Chris is married to Sophie Jones who teaches at both Trent Vale Infant and Nursery School and Beeston Rylands Junior School.

Lisa Shepherd (Vice Chair of the Governing Body)

Term of office:- 16/01/2020-15/01/2024

Resources; Pupil Outcomes; Lead Safeguarding Governor

Lisa has worked for the NHS/CityCare for over 12 years as a Community Nursery Nurse with a Health Visiting Team. She is mum to Ethan who is now doing an apprenticeship and Flynn who is at Chiwell School.
She also attended both schools as a child having grown up in the area. This gives her a good knowledge of the local area and community. She also has a good knowledge of special educational needs, the ability to work as part of a team and is willing to learn having attended courses for Governors as applicable. Her interests include running and she does the weekly Parkrun at the weir field and her two boys also join in too. She also enjoys holidays, photography and crafts.

Lisa’s sister Michelle Gough teaches at Trent Vale Infant and Nursery School.

Lisa Sharples

Term of office:- 16/01/2020-15/01/2024

Resources, Pupil Outcomes and Pay Committees; Appraisal Governor

Lisa joined the governing body of the Infant school as a parent governor in spring 2015. She runs her own business providing consultancy in organisational development, and in her spare time is also involved with the Board of Nottingham Mencap. Through her work, she has experience in project management, change management and strategic planning and enjoys problem solving. She is committed to the values of the school and the nurturing environment that enables children to thrive. She enjoys spending time with her son cooking, cycling, walking down by the river or reading stories.

Deidre Bagley

Term of office :- 16/01/2020-15/01/2024

Pupil Outcomes and Pay Committees; Deputy SEND Governor

Deidre is a retired teacher who currently organises a local group for 0-5 year olds called ‘Rainbows’. She has strong links with the local community having lived in the area since she was 6 years old. She has a wealth of experience of working with children, young people and schools, and still acts as an invigilator at Chilwell School. She is involved with both the Rylands Community Church and Rylands Methodist Church. She also enjoys trying to trace her family history.


Alistair McPherson

Term of office :- 16/01/2020 – 15/01/2024

Pupil Outcomes Committee Chair; GDPR and Inventory Governor

Alistair is a lecturer in English for Academic Purposes at the University of Leicester, where he splits his time between teaching and management responsibilities. He previously worked in Italy, Portugal and Hungary, where he taught English as a foreign language both to adults and children from primary age upwards. In his free time he is a keen motorcyclist.

Karen Naylor

Term of office :- 16/01/2020 – 15/01/2024

Resources and Pupil Outcomes Committees

Karen is a Teaching Assistant at Trent Vale Infant and Nursery School

Lisa Griffiths

Term of Office: – 10/03/2021 – 09/03/2025

Resources and Pupil Outcomes Committee

Parent Governors

Jon Wynn (Trent Vale Infant and Nursery School)

Term of office:-  14/01/2020 – 13/01/2024

Pupil Outcomes Committee; Training Co-ordinator

Jon is originally from Pontefract , West Yorshire but now live in Beeston where my two sons , Jimmy and Rudy Oliver-Wynn attend Trent Vale . I am currently Head of World Studies at Magnus Church of England Academy in Newark where I teach Spanish and French. In my spare I am a keen traveler and trekker having just completed the Inca Trail in Peru and part of El Camino de Santiago in Spain. I am also a keen Arsenal fan though spend most of my time taking my eldest to watch Forest!

Sam Williams (Beeston Rylands Junior School)

Term of office:-  14/01/2020 – 13/01/2024

Resources Committees Chair

Sam is the father of two daughters attending the schools in the Federation – Tabitha and Jemima are both at Beeston Rylands. Sam has lived in Beeston since 2001, having travelled here via London, north Essex and Sheffield. He works as a Project and Programme Manager in the business services industry. In his spare time, Sam enjoys walking in the Peak District.  When the weather is less hospitable, he gets involved in amateur dramatics. Whilst he occasionally treads the boards he is more likely to be seen tinkering around back stage designing sets, hitting things with a hammer and trying to make the sound effects work.

Associate Governors

Sue Osborne

Term of office:-  16/01/2020 – 15/01/2024

All Committees as required

Sue is the Federation Deputy Head